Assistance Centers

Local Assistance and Disaster Recovery Centers

The Local Assistance Center is a one-stop-shop with critical government services for residents who have been impacted by the fires. Replace lost or destroyed vital documents (ID, financial information, etc.) and get connected with support services.

Debris Removal Operations Center

Shasta1300 Hilltop Drive
Redding, CA

Bank of America building
Monday-Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday 8 a.m. - 12 noon

Phone #: (925) 216-3028
Siskiyou1312 Fairlane Road
Yreka, CA 96097
Monday-Friday 8:00am-5pm
Saturday 8:00am-Noon

Phone #: (925) 983-9002

SBA Business Recovery Center

The center will provide a wide range of services to businesses impacted by wildfires and high winds.  The center will provide a one-stop location for businesses to access a variety of specialized help. SBA customer service representatives and business advisors from the Northeastern California Small Business Development Center will be available to meet individually with each business owner. No appointment is necessary and all services are provided free of charge.

CountyLocationHours / Days
ShastaSuperior California Economic Development Center
350 Hartnell Ave., Suite A
Redding, CA 96002
8am - 5pm
Monday - Friday

SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs)

ShastaHours: 8am - 5pm Monday - FridayFirst Christian Church of Redding
Lower Conference Room
3590 Placer St.
Redding, CA 96001

Need clarification on resources offered at LACs, DRCs and DLOCs? Below is a guideline on what each assistance center offers.

Local Assistance Centers (LACs):

  • Local city and/or county operates and manages the center; the state provides a state liaison from Cal OES
  • May be reimbursed by Governor’s Office of Emergency Services for certain operation costs when there is a declared State of Emergency
  • Local government provides logistical support
  • Location(s) are generally at fixed sites the local government has chosen;
  • Facility must meet ADA and safety requirements to ensure accessibility for all
  • Local government can open and operate a center after a disaster without state or federal actions or declaration; but will also co-locate local, state, federal, nonprofit, and voluntary/faith-based organizations, as appropriate to provide information, referrals, or direct assistance.
  • Usually a short-term operation

Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs):

  • FEMA runs and manages DRCs for survivors to learn about and apply for additional programs and services
  • Once a lease or use-agreement is signed, the DRC becomes a federal facility
  • FEMA provides logistical support as warranted; the state may also assist as needed
  • FEMA ensures facility meets Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA); a DRC may be fixed location or mobile vehicle
  • DRCs deliver services when there is a Presidential disaster declared for Individual Assistance. DRCs are usually staffed by federal and state employees, but may also include representatives from local and nonprofit organizations
  • Disaster survivors can learn about and access a variety of services including phone and online registration with FEMA. Applicants can also access other available services and programs at the DRC.
  • Usually a longer term operation

SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs)

  • SBA negotiates with local government on a facility or portion of a facility
  • SBA makes sure the facility is accessible for all
  • SBA sets its own hours of operation and duration of DLOC
  • SBA uses the DLOC to provide visitors an ability to apply for assistance and/or seek guidance from SBA; loan closings, etc.
  • Usually co-located at a DRC when practicable

Disaster Assistance Centers (DAC):

  • Operated and managed by the American Red Cross, DACs provide a centralized location for residents to access American Red Cross disaster services and assistance.